Ask Cat › AI Tool Summary › Hedra
[Verified] Hedra's free tier stays hidden—and paid plans start at US$15/month for 1,500 credits
- Free tier: There is
- Cheapest paid plan: US$15/mo and up
- Free quota: The official website has not disclosed specific numbers: the pricing …
- Last checked: 2026-09-22
Article last updated: 2026-09-23
Hedra makes AI videos with talking characters—faces that sync mouth and expression to speech. It’s built for social media clips, product demos, and quick content. But the moment you land on its pricing page, you hit a wall: Hedra doesn’t say how much free tier you actually get.
The site says “Free Plan, No Credit Card” and the FAQ mentions you keep “limited watermarked generation” after you cancel. That’s it. No numbers. We dug for the actual limit and found nothing published. This gap between what Hedra claims and what’s verifiable is exactly why this matters—if you’re considering the free plan, you’re flying blind.
The paid tiers do have clear prices. Basic is US$15/month for 1,500 credits per month. Creator is US$30/month for 5,400 credits. Professional is US$75/month for 14,400 credits. A separate Teams plan also costs US$75/month but Hedra doesn’t specify if that price is per user or shared. Understanding what these credits actually mean for your video output is the first real question.
How many videos will you actually make?
Credits are Hedra’s unit of purchase, but the site doesn’t list a credit cost per video. Without that conversion rate, you can’t calculate whether US$30 is enough for your workflow or whether you need US$75. This is deliberate opacity—vendors often keep cost-per-unit vague to avoid price comparison. You’ll find out the credit cost only after you sign up or contact sales.
The free tier won’t show you its own limits
Most AI tools publish free tier caps upfront: “10 API calls per day” or “5 videos per month.” Hedra publishes neither. If you want to test the tool before paying, you’re committing to a manual exploration with no way to know when you’ve hit the ceiling. The watermark that persists on free videos signals you’re in free tier, but it doesn’t tell you when you’ve exhausted your free allowance.
Paid plans lock in monthly spend
All Hedra’s paid tiers are subscriptions billed monthly. There’s no annual discount, no pay-as-you-go option. If you subscribe to Creator at US$30/month, you pay that every month, whether you use all 5,400 credits or none.
🔍 AMPM exclusive check
The official pricing page states plan names and prices but does not publish free-tier credit limits. The FAQ confirms free users get “limited watermarked generation” after cancellation but does not specify the limit itself. We found no publicly available credit-per-video cost on Hedra’s site, pricing page, FAQ, or help center. This gap matches what we verified on 2026-09-22: Hedra’s free tier remains undisclosed in any official documentation, and the credit cost per video is not public. Everything below is drawn from the pricing page and plan descriptions as displayed.

☀️ AMO, the budget-minded cat
If you’re testing Hedra for the first time, the free plan is an obvious choice—no card, no commitment. But here’s the catch: Hedra won’t tell you your limit, so you might hit it and not know why until you see the watermark or get a soft block. This is frustrating for anyone trying to prototype.
If you decide to pay, Basic at US$15/month gives you 1,500 credits monthly. That’s the entry point, and it’s lean. For social media creators who post daily, 1,500 credits might cover 4–6 videos depending on length and complexity (though Hedra won’t confirm this conversion). If you’re making one or two videos a month, Basic could work. If you’re making more, you’ll overshoot and waste budget, or you’ll need to move to Creator.
Creator at US$30/month (US$1 per credit) gives 5,400 credits—more than 3× the Basic tier. For a content shop, this is likely the floor. It’s enough to experiment with different character styles, redo shots, and build a library without penny-pinching. Most shops should start here if they’re moving beyond hobby use.
Professional at US$75/month is for teams doing this full-time. The name “Best value” on Hedra’s site signals it’s the expected sweet spot—5.2 cents per credit versus 1 cent in Creator. In absolute terms, you’re spending more, but you’re paying less per unit. If you’re producing 15+ videos a month, this is cheaper per video than the lower tiers.
The budget angle: Don’t trust the free tier to tell you the limits upfront. Budget for Creator (US$30) if you’re serious about testing, or Basic (US$15) if you’re genuinely just poking around once a month.

🌙 PIMI, the performance-minded cat
What matters here isn’t the price—it’s whether the credits you buy translate to usable output. Hedra’s sync of mouth and expression is its whole value proposition. A video that looks out-of-sync or robotic defeats the point of paying anything.
The free tier watermark is a blocker for any serious work. It signals you’re limited, and in professional delivery, a watermark says “this is cheaper” or “this is experimental”—neither of which is the message you want. Moving to paid is not optional if you’re shipping to clients or your brand.
Between Basic, Creator, and Professional, the question is volume. If you’re making 20+ videos a month, Professional’s per-credit rate (5.2 cents) is cheaper than Creator (1 cent per credit) on a unit basis, so the math favors it. You’re spreading the fixed platform cost over more output.
If you’re making 5–10 videos a month, Creator (US$30, 1 cent per credit) is likely more efficient than paying US$75 for credits you won’t use. Basic (US$15, 1 cent per credit) works only if you’re genuinely making 2–4 videos monthly; beyond that, the overage friction and credit waste make it uneconomical.
What PIMI cares about: Will the characters look good enough to ship? Will the sync be tight? Will the per-video cost stay low as you scale output? Hedra doesn’t publish credit costs or quality benchmarks, so you can’t answer these before paying. This is a tool you need to test at cost—sign up for the paid plan that matches your projected volume and see if the quality and credit math work. If it doesn’t, you’ve paid for one month of learning; if it does, you’ve found your tool.
The performance angle: Paid plans start at US$15/month, but you won’t know if they’re worth it until you use them. Budget for a month at Creator (US$30) and measure your actual cost per video and quality before deciding if you stay, upgrade, or leave.
Verdict: who should use it, who should skip it
Use Hedra if you’re making social media videos, product demos, or marketing content where character-driven video saves time. Use a paid plan from day one—the free tier’s secrecy means you’ll spend more time guessing than creating.
If you’re a solo creator making 2–4 videos a month, start at Creator (US$30). If you’re a team making 15+ a month, go straight to Professional (US$75). Basic (US$15) is the trap—it’s not quite enough, and the credit scarcity will interrupt your workflow.
Skip Hedra if you need to keep headcount avatars in sync across dozens of videos (sync quality matters hugely for that). Skip it if you need transparent pricing before committing—Hedra’s vagueness on free tiers and credit costs will frustrate you.
Written: 2026-09-23
Price last verified: 2026-09-22
Tool last health-checked: 2026-09-23
🔗 Related on AMPM
📎 Sources
All prices and quotas in this article come from AMPM’s verified dataset for Hedra (last verified 2026-09-22); primary sources:
🐾 Meet the cats: AMO and PIMI

AMPM is a Taiwan-based AI-tool pricing watchdog. Our motto: ask before you subscribe. Two cats argue every tool from two sides:
- ☀️ AMO — the budget-minded cat. Always asks: is the free tier enough, and is paying actually worth it?
- 🌙 PIMI — the performance-minded cat. Cares about whether it works well, fast, and gets your job done.
When they are done arguing, you know whether to pay. Every number is checked by us, with the verification date at the end.
🐾 Our sister sites also checked
Let's take a look at these
- Hedra Comprehensive Introduction: Pricing, Features, and Actual Limitations
- Hedra Is the free quota enough?
- Hedra Alternatives
- Comprehensive Free Quota List for All Tools
