Total unique visitors
Browse by category Chatbots Image Generation Video Generation Audio & Voice Coding Writing Productivity Research AI Agents Free Tier Table
🕐 Last checked: 2026-09-22 00:00

GitHub Copilot pricing, free tier and how to use it

AMPM AI Ops × GitHub Copilot: verified pricing and free tier

GitHub CopilotAI code completion — GitHub/Microsoft

Free-tier friendliness
3/5
  • ✓ Has a free version
  • ✕ The official website does not state how often the quota resets.
  • ✕ Commercial use not stated
  • ✓ No watermark on free plan
  • ✓ The free quota has a publicly stated specific number.

This score is calculated from the fields checked on the site and is not a subjective review. Price confirmed. 2026-09-21

AMPM〖100〗 Confirmed・Coding Seat #3(75.3 pts)→
Common Pitfalls

Only 2,000 code completions per month, and does not support advanced features such as cloud agent and code review

AMO PIMI They also argued about these things on another page.
View Change History
2026-09-21 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-20 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
Show the remaining verification history (38 more)▼
2026-09-19 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-18 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-17 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-16 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-15 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-14 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-13 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-12 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-11 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-10 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-09 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-08 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-09-05 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-08-14 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-08-09 05:31:17 Checked on 2026-08-09 05:31: GitHub Copilot's pricing plans include Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max, which are US$0, US$10, US$39, and US$100 per month, respectively. Compared to the previous check, the prices or plans have changed, with more features and options added. Source: https://github.com/features/copilot/plans
2026-08-07 21:52:52 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-08-06 12:06:35 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-08-05 22:32:41 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-08-03 03:34:37 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-31 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-30 The GitHub Copilot plans on the official website (github.com/features/copilot/plans) were successfully fetched. The plans remain unchanged: Free (2,000 completions/month, with Haiku 4.5/GPT-5 mini as available models), Pro (US$10, including US$15 credits), Pro+ (US$39, including US$70 credits), and Max (US$100, including US$200 credits). The Business and Enterprise plans are not listed on this page, only showing "Contact sales". The promotional AI Credits for the transitional period (ending 2026-09-01) could not be reconfirmed on this page, but according to the existing docs.github.com records, they remain in effect.
2026-07-30 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-30 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-27 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-26 11:02:57 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-26 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-26 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-26 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-26 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-25 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details
2026-07-25 The official website started using a subscription + GitHub AI Credits usage-based billing model from 2026/6/1, adding new Max (US$100), Business (US$19/seat), and Enterprise (US$39/seat) plans, with Pro and Pro+ prices remaining unchanged.
2026-07-25 Daily auto-check logged — see the Chinese version for details

Continuously re-checked, every fact dated

Has a free plan

What Is This

Most widely adopted AI autocomplete; free for students is a hidden perk.

Free Version Limitations

The general user free tier includes 2,000 completions and 50 chats per month. Open-source maintainers and teachers can upgrade to Pro for free. The free student plan has reopened for new applications since 2026-06-17, after being suspended since 2026-04-20 for 58 days. As of 2026-07-27, the model selection for Free and Student plans has been limited to only Auto, and manual model specification is no longer available, while Pro and above plans are not affected.

Available Models And Quantity

ModelFree quotaCalculate Time WindowDescription
Haiku 4.52,000 completions per monthMonthlyThere are also models like GPT-5 mini available

Free Usage Limit

FeaturesFree quotaDescription
Copilot CLIAvailable
ChatLimited use
Agent modeLimited use
Cloud agentNot available
Code reviewNot available
Terms Of UseNo credit card required
Free Version For Commercial UseNot Available In Free Plan

Sources: GitHub Copilot official website

Pricing Plan Differences

Pro
Best for: Daily programmers who use GitHub Copilot's proxy feature
US$10 / mo
Which ModelSupports model selection and third-party agents (Claude Code and Codex)
Usage QuotaUnlimited code completion and next-step edit suggestions, with a US$15 per month GitHub AI Credits allowance
This Plan Includes
  • Cloud agent
  • Code review
  • Unlimited code completion and next edit suggestions
  • Access to 3rd party agents (Claude Code and Codex)
  • Model selection
Not Included
  • Premium models
  • Audit logs
What Sets Us Apart

Includes all features of the Free version, with additional cloud proxy and code review

Subscribe On Official Website
Pro+
Best for: Users who need to use advanced models for more complex development
US$39 / mo
Which ModelHigh-end model, including Opus
Usage QuotaThe included usage is more than 4 times that of the Pro plan, with a monthly GitHub AI Credits limit of US$70
This Plan Includes
  • Premium models (including Opus)
  • Audit logs
What Sets Us Apart

Includes all features of the Pro version, with additional advanced models and audit logs, and usage is more than 4 times that of the Pro plan

Subscribe On Official Website
Max
Best for: 重度用量開發者
US$100 / mo

New plan, including approximately US$200/month GitHub AI Credits

This Plan Includes
  • 內含約 US$200/月 GitHub AI Credits
Subscribe On Official Website
Business
Best for: 中小企業團隊(每席次/月)
US$19 / user / mo(5 user ≈ US$95/mo)

Each seat/month, new plan added; seat fee equivalent to monthly AI Credits quota (1:1, standard 1,900 points/seat); 10/25/50 seats have 5%/10%/15% bulk discounts (third-party source); promotion: official docs.github.com confirms that existing customers will automatically receive 3,000 points/seat AI Credits (originally standard 1,900 points) during the transition period from 2026-06-01 to 2026-09-01, with the deadline corrected from previously only knowing "August" to the specific date 2026-09-01, and was still in effect as of 2026-07-27.

This Plan Includes
  • 每月 1,900 點 AI Credits/席(2026-06~09 過渡期加碼至3,000點)
  • 10/25/50 席另有批量折扣
Subscribe On Official Website
Enterprise
Best for: 大型企業(每席次/月)
US$39 / user / mo(5 user ≈ US$195/mo)

Per seat/month, a new plan is added; the seat fee is equivalent to the monthly AI Credits quota (1:1, standard 3,900 points/seat); promotion: according to the official docs.github.com, during the transition period from 2026-06-01 to 2026-09-01, existing customers automatically receive 7,000 points/seat AI Credits (originally standard 3,900 points), the deadline has been corrected from previously only knowing "August" to the specific date 2026-09-01, and was still in effect as of 2026-07-27

This Plan Includes
  • 每月 3,900 點 AI Credits/席(過渡期加碼至7,000點)
  • 企業級管理與安全
Subscribe On Official Website

Plan details verified from: GitHub Copilot official website

Similar Options

Other tools in the same category as GitHub Copilot — free tiers and pricing vary, so you can compare them side by side.

Claude logo Claude AI chat/programming

Long-form writing and document quality are its strengths, with the paid version including the Claude Code engineering tool

FreeThe quota is calculated based on a rolling 5-hour usage window (not simply resetting at a fixed number every day), and general conversations can be used for around 10-20 times, excluding Claude Code.
Cursor logo Cursor AI code editor

AI code editors are a staple in the engineering community

FreeHobby: 2000 times of completion + 50 times of slow progress requests (confirmed on the official website on 2026-07-26, but the official website no longer lists these numbers in detail, only mentioning limited quota, and the specific numbers are now only seen in third-party community sources, keeping the record but adjusting the confidence level to medium)
Windsurf logo Windsurf AI code editor

Competitors of Cursor, agent-style programming experience

FreeLight daily and weekly quotas, only some models available, with unlimited Tab autocomplete and inline editing (changed from a credit system to a quota system on 2026/3/19). Re-check on 2026-08-11 found that windsurf.com/pricing now permanently redirects to devin.ai/pricing, that the page is entirely Devin-branded and that the standalone Windsurf pricing page no longer exists (the brand has been folded into Devin). The plan figures here are still consistent with the new page and have not changed.

Using Information

DeveloperGitHub/Microsoft
CategoryCoding
PlatformWeb
Chinese SupportNot supported
Official LinkVisit GitHub Copilot's official site →

Notes

Support for mobile devices (iOS/App/tablet) is to be verified, and only web versions are listed for now. GitHub will start charging GitHub Copilot as a subscription + GitHub AI Credits usage fee from 2026/6/1, and add Max/Business/Enterprise plans.

Related Comparison Alternatives

Related Guide:GitHub Copilot's Sept 1 Credit Cliff: Enterprise Drops 7,000 to 3,900 per Seat, Business 3,000 to 1,900

GitHub's own docs confirm the Business/Enterprise transitional boost ends 2026-09-01. Individual plans hide a two-layer 'base + flex' structure — only the base is guaranteed. Last checked 2026-08-24.

Read the full guide →

GitHub Copilot Promotions & discounts

🎁 GitHub Copilot Free Plans: Free Pro for Students, Teachers, and Open Source Maintainers (2026) — GitHub Copilot free options: 2,000 completions + 50 chats/month for regular users, the student free plan reopened in June 2026, and free Pro upgrades for open source maintainers and teachers. Last verified: 2026-08-08.

See this deal →

What Others Say

Share Your Experience Or Recommend Tools

Affiliate Links Notice